Dr. Shradha Mishra

Assistant Professor
Department/School/Unit Name
Department of Physics Engineering,IIT (BHU)
Phone No(s): 9554846957
Email: smishra.phy@iitbhu.ac.in
Area of Interest: Condensed matter theory, soft condensed matter, statistical physics, active matter

Condensed matter theory, soft condensed matter, statistical physics, active matter

Our research revolves around studying the collective behavior of self propelled active particles and their response to various perturbations and inhomogeneities in the system. Our group works on theoretical techniques and does numerical simulations to study phenomena such as dynamics of active Brownian particles in complex solvents, quantifying ordering in disordered systems under tuned activities of introduced species. Some of the other topics we are interested in include: effect of chirality and activity on phase separation, motility induced phase separation and application of machine learning, reinforcement learning  algorithms to active matter models.

Publication list can be found at: https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=vOx244QAAAAJ&hl=en

Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Technology (BHU), Varanasi (Since 27th Nov. 2015)

DST (INSPIRE) faculty at S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata (Jan 2014 to 26th Nov 2015)

DST (INSPIRE) faculty at Department of Physics,  Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (Feb 2013 to 31st Dec. 2013)

Post Doctoral fellow at Kansas State University (Department of Physics) (Jan 2012 - Dec 2012) (With Prof. Jeremy Schmit)

Visiting research scholar at Rockefeller University (Mar 2011 - Dec 2011) (With Prof. E. G. D. Cohen)

Visiting research scholar at Princeton University (Sept 2010 - Feb 2011) (With Prof. Iain D. Couzin)

Post Doctoral fellow at Syracuse University (Dept. of physics) (Nov. 2008 - July 2010) (With Prof. M. Cristina Marchetti)

Ph.D(Physics) : CCMT, Department of Physics, IISc Bangalore (Aug 2003 to Oct. 2008)

Thesis adviser: Prof. Sriram Ramaswamy

Thesis Title: Dynamics order and fluctuations is active nematics: numerical and theoretical studies.

Master of Science (Physics) (2003): School of Physical Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
Project(MSc) Title: Random Matrix Theory

Bachelor of Science (Physics, Maths) (2001):University of Allahabad, Allahabad, U. P.




Theory courses:

PHY 101, Classical Quantum and Relativistic Mechanics: (UG level)
Statistical Physics: (Integrated IIIrd year and M.Sc. First year)
Computational Physics: (Integrated IIIrd year and M.Sc. First year)
Mathematical Physics: Ph.D level 
Advanced Statistical Physics:  Ph.D Level.
Simulation Methods in Statistical Physics: (M.Tech final year and first year Ph.D level)

Lab Courses:

B.Tech Part I Mechanics Lab.
Computational Physics Lab (M.Sc level)
M.Sc. final year modern physics lab.

Teaching Assistant:

Teaching assistant, Classical Mechanics (PH 202) (Aug-Nov (2004)),
Course Instructor: Prof. Sriram Ramaswamy.
Teaching Assistant, The Physics of Disordered Systems (PH 333) (Jan-April (2005)),
Course Instructor: Prof. Chandan Dasgupta and Prof. Todadri Senthil.


Matrics DST SERB Project (Amount 6 Lakhs) (2022-25)

CRG DST SERB  Project  (Amount 28 Lakhs) (2022-25)

Early Career Award SERB  (Amount 25 Lakhs) (2017-20)

INSPIRE Faculty Award 2012

Prof. D. Giri (IIT BHU)

Prof. Sanjay Puri (JNU New Delhi)

Prof. S S Manna (SNBNCBS Kolkata)

Prof. Manoranjan Kumar (SNBNCBS Kolkata)

Prof. Punyabrata Pradhan (SNBNCBS Kolkata)

Prof. Sakuntala Chatterjee (SNBNCBS Kolkata)

Prof. Jaydeb Chakrabarti (SNBNCBS Kolkata)

Dr. Vijayakumar Chikkadi (IISER Pune)


PhD. Students

1. Shambhavi Dikshit (July 2018-)

Project Area

2. Pawan Kumar Mishra (July 2019-)

Project Area

3. Pratikshya Jena (Dec. 2020-)

Project Area

4. Partha Sarathi Mondal (Dec. 2021-)

Project Area

5. Divya Kushwaha (July 2022-)

Project Area

6 Anish Kumar (July 2022-)

Project Area

7. Abhra Puitandy (Dec. 2022-)

Project Area


Master and UG students

1. Pathma Eswaran (IDD M.Tech)

2. Pratyush Chowdhury (IDD M. Tech)

3. V. Abhinav Ram (UG Project)

4. Jayam Joshi (Stream Project)

5. Riya Singh (M.Sc Project)


Past Members

1. Dr. Rakesh Das (Post Doc. at National University of Singapore)

2. Dr. Sudipta Pattanayak (Post Doc. at CNRS France),

3. Dr. Sameer Kumar (Post Doc. at Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen)

4. Dr. Jay Prakash Singh (Post Doc. at Technion, Israel)

5. Dr. Vivek Semwal (Post Doc. at Riken Japan)

6. Prashanthi Mahadevan

6. Harshit Rathore

7. Jogendra Kumar

8. Pranay Bimal Sampat (Ph.D at Brown University)

9. Ajeya Krishna

10. Ananya Verma

11. Kritika Sachan



Please visit the following link for the group page