Department of Chemistry The Department of Chemistry, IIT-BHU, previously known as Department of Applied Chemistry (Institute of Technology), was established in the year 1985. Earlier this Department was functioning as a Section in the School of Basic Sciences in Banaras Hindu University-Varanasi. This Department currently consists of 13 faculty members including 08 Professors, 02 Associate Professors, 02 Assistant Professors and 01 Institute Professor The prime responsibilities of the department are: