Home People Faculty Members
Biography_Prof. P. Chakrabarti

P. Chakrabarti, former Director of Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology, Allahabad is currently with the Department of Electronics Engineering, IIT(BHU) as Professor (HAG). Professor Chakrabarti has made a significant contribution in experimental and theoretical research in the areas of Microelectronics and Photonics. He has been the Coordinator (2005-11) of the Centre for Research in Microelectronics, Department of Electronics Engineering, IIT(BHU) and the founder Coordinator of Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (MEMS) Centre at IIT(BHU). His research group has strong collaborations with the Optoelectronics Research group, Lancaster University, Lancaster, UK and the Nanomaterials research group, University of New South Wales, Australia. Seventeen students have been awarded Ph.D. degree so far under his supervision and two students are currently working towards Ph.D. under his supervision. He has successfully completed a number of R & D projects sponsored by government funding agencies such as, DST, CSIR, DRDO etc. He has published over 250 research papers in leading technical journals and in Conference Proceedings and filed 3 patents. He has authored three text books and edited four Proceedings. Prof. Chakrabarti earned his B.Tech. and M.Tech. Degrees from the University of Calcutta, Kolkata in 1980 and 1982 respectively. He earned his Ph.D. degree in Electronics Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology (BHU) in 1988. He is a recipient of Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Visiting Fellowship to conduct experimental research at the Microelectronics Centre, Indian institute of Technology, Kharagpur and Senior Visiting Fellowship of Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), UK. Prof. Chakrabarti is a Fellow of Institution of Engineers and a Senior Member of IEEE, USA. He has been awarded Amity Academic Excellence Award-2015. He is appointed as Associate Editor, Journal of Electronic Materials-Springer.


Copyright ©2015 Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University), Varanasi - 221005 | Disclaimer