About the Department
AICTE Sponsored Short Term Course on Modeling and Simulation of Advanced Semiconductor Devices, July 17-22, 2017

Department of Electronics Engineering

Department of Electronics Engineering came into existence as an offshoot of Electrical Engineering Department in the year 1971 (when Banaras Engineering College, College of Mining and Metallurgy and College of Technology had been amalgamated to form the Institute of Technology in its present form). The intake every year of the Department is 79 in the B.Tech. level and 47 in the M.Tech. level. Besides teaching students of our own discipline (Electronics Engineering), we also offer the basic courses in Electronics Engineering to almost all the Departments of the Institute, we also teach advanced-level courses to the students of Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering Departments. We have a training and placement section in the Institute through which most of our students are professionally placed in various jobs.
Our current priority areas of specialization are (i) Communication Systems Engineering (ii) Digital Techniques & Instrumentation (iii) Microwave Engineering and (iv) Microelectronics. We are accordingly, running a doctoral programme under which about 45-50 research scholars would obtain their Ph.D. degree, every year, in these thrust areas. A mention may be made about the external Ph.D. Registration Scheme of the Institute under which at a time there would be on an average 4-5 Scientists of National Laboratories registered for their Ph.D. degree. Presently, we have 19 teachers (Professors-8, Associate Professor-4 and Assistant Professor-7) out of the sanctioned strength of 27. Besides, we have now 2 Scientist/Scientific Officers in the Department.

Prof. Satyabrata Jit

Head of the Department
Department of Electronics Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology
(Banaras Hindu University)
Varanasi-221005, Uttar Pradesh, INDIA

head.ece@iitbhu.ac.in, sjit.ece@iitbhu.ac.in
Phone: 0542 - 6701501, 2307010(O) 
Fax: 0542-2366758


Status Center

We have 1 guest online

Copyright ©2013 Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University), Varanasi - 221005 | Disclaimer